FUMCNEXT Statement of purpose
FUMCNext Carbondale
First United Methodist Church of Carbondale, Illinois
Statement of Purpose

We, as members of FUMCNext Carbondale of First United Methodist Church of Carbondale, Illinois, commit to the UMCNext and IGRC for Unity commitments, as follows: 
  1. We long to be passionate followers of Jesus Christ, committed to a Wesleyan vision of Christianity, anchored in scripture and informed by tradition, experience and reason as we live a life of personal piety and social holiness.
  2. We commit to resist evil, injustice and oppression in whatever forms they present themselves,* and toward all people and build a church which affirms the full participation of all ages, nations, races, classes, cultures, gender identities, sexual orientations, and abilities.
  3. We reject the Traditional Plan approved at General Conference 2019 as inconsistent with the gospel of Jesus Christ and will resist its implementation. 
  4. We will work to eliminate discriminatory language and the restrictions and penalties in the Discipline regarding LGBTQ persons. We affirm the sacred worth of LGBTQ persons, celebrate their gifts, and commit to being in ministry together in our local church.
*From the Baptismal Covenant of The United Methodist Church

The following individuals have expressed their support of this Statement of Purpose. If you wish to have your name added to this list, submit it on this page. 

Debbie Asaturian
Evelyn Bailey
Cindy Bertsch
Laura Bishop
Matt Bishop
Lily Bishop
Donna Butler
Bill Crippen
Joyce Crippen
Judy Dillinger
Janet Earnest
Andy Earnest
George Everingham
Shirley Everingham
Joan Hart
In-Sook Hwang
Milly Kaiser
Bobbe Lenzini
Carol Mocaby
Al Morgan
Bob Morwell
John Sims
Sharon Sims
Sue Stucky
John Washburn
Sally Washburn
Bob Weiss
Jan Weiss
Pam Yarbrough
Steve Yarbrough
Gene Morgan
Mariann Oberg
Gary Austin
Jan Austin
Cindy Massie
Jennifer Presar
Leah Farrar-White
Connie Kleven
Steve Mitchell
Anita Hutton
Angie Ransom
Pat Cuendet
John Brocato
Duane Cole
Betty Graig
John Annable
Marilyn Annable
Lisa Washburn Owens
Linda White
Shadi Frick
Douglas Baker
Amy Baker
Nelda Hinckley
Mary Beth Aguilar 
Beth (Gallegly) Fender
Lindsey Bailey
Darren Bailey
Janet M. Vaught
Tracy Gibson
Della J. Fulk
Greg Cook
Nancy Cook
Kathy Hollister
Jo Vonna Noble
Joseph Powers
Jim Oberg
Mari Ann Oberg
Jan Waggoner
Karen Frick
Kay Eckiss
Monty Smith
Larry Dunlap-Berg
Barb Dunlap-Berg
Kristen Dunlap-Berg
Robert Lucas
Linda Lucas
Kayli Lucas
Jaden Lucas
Joe Miller
Pat Bullard
Gaye Auxier
Randall Auxier